Stewart C. Bushong, ScD

Stewart Bushong received his Sc.D. from University of Pittsburgh in 1967. Since 1976 he has been Professor and Chief of the Section of Radiologic Science in the Department of Radiology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He has been active in the AAPM since he joined in 1962. He has been a regular presenter, served on eight standing committees chairing six of them. He has served on the Board of Directors. His Fellowships include AAPM, ACMP and ACR. His noteworthy contributions to the advancement of the profession of medical physics include helping to establish the Texas Medical Physics Society in 1986, formed for the express purpose of licensing medical physicists. This effort was successful and in 1991, Dr. Bushong was named by Governor Ann Richards to the inaugural nine member Texas Board of Licensure for Professional Medical Physicists. He was elected by that board to serve as its first chairperson. Dr. Bushong holds medical physics license number 0001.